so this is the new year: 2015

i come into a new year with no resolutions.

this is new for me–i’m big on resolutions. on checklists. on time-sensitive, goal-oriented, accomplishment-centered to-do’s. this year though i’ve decided to let go of resolutions and their redundancies (see: resolutions 2011, resolutions 2012, resolutions 2013, resolutions 2014 ).

it is too easy for me to rely on self-motivation and achievement. i’m a firstborn–give me a list, and i’ll get it done. And our society tends to love that get-up-and-go, get-things-done attitude. Look how much I can do, how I don’t wait around for things to happen—I make things happen! yet I’ve really yet to find anything at all about being a child of God that has to do with my own self-motivation or my own ability to make things happen.

The past few months bryan and I have been praying over some big decisions we’ll have to make in the next year, and during that time, we sought out close friends and family for council and advise and all the good prayers friends and family can give. One of bryan’s friends told him that whatever we decide in the next year, he felt like right now the word for us was patience, to wait on the Lord.

Wait: delay, pause, postponement, gap, a hold-up, a side-track.

but we are “waiting” i thought–nevermind that! what do we need to DO? I’ve never much liked waiting; I’m goal-oriented, not a process person, wanting to get to that bigger picture rather than muck around in the details.  But so much of life is details, the tiny things, the repetitive actions.

this year we celebrated advent, for the first time really, as a family. we read voskamp’s “unwrapping the greatest gift: a family celebration of christmas“, that pointed all of the stories of the bible to the great gift of the bible, Jesus’ saving gift. the girls colored bible story pictures and hung purple, pink and white beads on our tree each week. we talked about hope, love, and waiting, much about waiting, for that little baby in the manger that changed everything. advent redefined wait for me

Wait: to watch for, to be awake, to remain in some place, to see if something occurs, (from etymonline)

and could I add, “with hope,” “with eagerness”? after all, though i don’t know the details of what i’m waiting for, i know that i’m waiting for something good (God gives good gifts).

so this year i’m going to chuck my accomplishments-to-be-accomplished list in the trash and instead pray over the many manifestations of waiting–from waiting for z. to put on her shoes for the park to waiting for baby 3 to come into the world (if a week late, so be it!), to waiting for answers to prayer that only God can give us.

wait.

18 But God’s not finished. He’s waiting around to be gracious to you.
    He’s gathering strength to show mercy to you.
God takes the time to do everything right—everything.
    Those who wait around for him are the lucky ones.

{ Isaiah 30:18

4 thoughts on “so this is the new year: 2015

  1. Oh, I love the idea of choosing a word based around a Bible verse. I’ll have to find a verse to do with willingness that will motivate me in the new year. And, you know, you’re right about resolutions. I always have mostly the same ones, too. I never even thought about that until reading your post. Praying for y’all as you wait with hope in 2015. 🙂

    Like

thoughts?

