my ideal day

100_8694Wake up at 5, get ready for the day, devotional, writing, reading time

Breakfast with family around 6:30

Walk around the block (maybe squeeze that in before breakfast sometimes?)

Around 7ish, when b leaves for work, doing our homeschool lesson for the day

Outside play time

Snack around 9

Outside play or daily outing (library story time, church play group, etc)

Lunch at 11

Nap at 12 for the girls, while I catch up on work and chores

Around 2, a snack

Outside play time  or outing

More homeschool from what we didn’t finish earlier

4ish, when b comes home, having a little time to myself to go read/ regroup/ enjoy some quiet time

Family walk

Family dinner around 5:30 / 6

Playtime

Bed for girls at 8

Catch up on work / chores

Relax with the hubby

Bed at 10

~

My day rarely goes exactly like this and I know having baby #3 will make this even More rare. I’ve had quiet an uncommon few of these days lately though, and I’ve appreciated them more than I would have, since I know they are fleeting and I’ve only recently acquired them since our schedule was so different when living in Georgia.

Some of the changes that have made this rhythm so much better for our family are that bryan and I are on the same schedule, our yard is more conducive for outdoor play so the girls get to be outside more, and I’ve started waking up before the girls wake up so that I can have (much-needed introvert) time to myself.

Previously, my mornings consisted of  waking up when I heard the girls call me, doing my best to hush the girls while b slept in from working his night shift, then rushing off to work, then rushing home to cook lunch. B and I had naptimes alone together, but shortly after the girls woke up from nap, he’d have to leave for work again.

Every now and then I’d have someone comment on how nice it must be to have b home during the day and I always agree yes, yes it is, because there were some positives—being able to go out when no other families were off work was nice—but overall the opposite schedule was not idea.

when we knew baby #3 was on her way, bringing along with her the inevitable collapse of our girls precious two-hour daily coordinated naptime, things had to change. And they did! Though I didn’t even think it possible, God provided a better rhythm for our family, and I’m grateful for it.

2 thoughts on “my ideal day

thoughts?

