2022 Writing Goals Update

Weekly goals:
– write everyday for 5 minutes a day [ I did this most days ]
– once a week sit down to look at submitting poems/ blogging / promoting books [ This was too ambitious–I ended up doing this sporadically. ]

Monthly goals:
– write two poems per month [ Looking through my records, I wrote about 50 poems this year that I ended up keeping–and a lot more stinkers that stayed in the notebook ]
– write at least two blogposts per month [ I kept up with this throughout the year]
– submit poems to 5 magazines per month [ I am pretty sure I did this every month]
– do at least 2 promotional things a month (contacting reviewers, guest-posting, sending books to published book contests, readings, etc) [ I sent out my manuscript WOB to 8 places this year–I can’t believe it was that many! Some was in part from a little mini-grant I received to cover a submission fee, and many were fee-free reading periods, but still! ]

Goals Unmet:
– promote Church Ladies book [ the release for this book has been pushed back to possibly this coming January, so I did not meet this goal yet ]
– edit my other middle grade novel I wrote summer 2021 [ did not happen ]

SUMMARY:

I am satisfied with my writing accomplishments for this year–I ended up writing and publishing my chapbook The Commonplace Misfortunes of Everyday Plants (Belle Point Press), an it turned out truly beautiful.

Doing the month long poem-a-day challenge in April really jump started that progress, and I think that I will attempt to do that challenge again in the spring.

I was also able to place poems in 14 different literary magazines this year, and I made significant revisions to my work in progress, WOB.

I think I could do more to promote my books that came out / are coming out this year, but I had trouble incorporating that in while still writing as much as I did and teaching some online classes (and homeschooling, and parenting, and and and…). Next year I need to work on promoting my work a bit more, though I am glad that I was able to do a reading this past March at Trevecca U, and I was lucky enough to already get a review of my chapbook, Commonplace.

I’ll post my writing goals for 2023 soon!

What have you accomplished with your writing this year?

One response to “2022 Writing Goals Update”

  1. […] Renee Emerson, 2022 Writing Goals Update […]

    Like

thoughts?